DEMENTIA

Although I wrote this a while back, sometimes we all need a reminder of how cruel dementia is.

carolynnrayment

She bears the scars of the ravages of age and addled brain
The phone will ring – a voice I do not recognise
Hello, is that Carolynn, or Carolynn’s mother?
Then realise I’ve heard this voice before
Her name is Julie; the widow of an eminent writer, so she says
Mis-dialled again; I’m too busy to talk I have a busy life to lead
She is becoming an irritant, but then…
I listen to her story – a life of sheer happiness in the past, and now, misery and isolation
She mumbles a thank you dear for contacting Derek for me
I thought he wrote 40 books, but you say 30
Are you going to America to work, or did you say Australia?
I’m not very well again she whispers in my ear. How are you dear is that Carolynn or
Carolynn’s mother?
It’s the second time my doctor has…

View original post 69 more words

